homemade granola

granola jars better-

You know how there are always those things where somewhere in the cobwebby recesses of your brain you totally realize that you shouldn’t be wasting money on something because you really could make it yourself if you actually made the effort? You’re at the store and you just kind of stand there, staring at the object/food item, and have a mini internal monologue. It goes something like this:

This is expensive. It wouldn’t even be that hard to make.
Yeah, I could totally do this. Let me bust out my iPhone and look up a recipe.

Well…it’s easy but that’s a lot of ingredients. I don’t remember if I have any of this in my pantry.
And I wanted to do laundry today. And finish that book. And go downtown for a while.
I just don’t have time/it’s too hot to turn on the oven/my motivation is quickly dwindling/insert other bad excuse here.

It’s a vicious cycle. I totally get it if you’ve been doing this very thing with granola.

I was too.

And then I finally got annoyed enough with myself for putting it off, because dammit I like granola and it IS ridiculously expensive.

granola-

So, here you go. A very simple granola recipe. And like most things that end up on this blog, it’s pretty versatile/adaptable. You can add or take out things as you see fit.

You should make some this weekend, because we are pretty much at the tail end of berry season, and granola + yogurt + berries pretty much makes the tastiest summer breakfast ever.

granola jar spill-

Granola

3 cups rolled oats (NOT quick-cooking or minute oats)
1 1/3 cups slivered almonds (I used raw)
2 TB chia seeds (flax could work here too, or you can leave them out altogether)
1 1/4 cups shredded, unsweetened coconut
2 TB brown sugar
1/4 cup oil (use something neutral like vegetable, canola, grapeseed, etc)
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup agave (maple syrup would also work!)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 250F and line two cookie sheets with parchment or a silpat.
  2. Combine oats, nuts, coconut, seeds, and brown sugar in a large bowl.
  3. Combine agave, oil, and salt in a small bowl.
  4. Pour the liquid mixture over the dry ingredients and mix with a wooden spoon or spatula. It may not seem like enough liquid, but eventually all of your dry ingredients will get moist (I’m sorry, I hate that word too, I just couldn’t think of another)
  5. Spread the mixture evenly between your two cookie sheets.
  6. Cook in oven, stirring every 10-15 minutes, until it reaches your desired consistency/color. Mine took about 35-40 minutes.
  7. Let cool completely, and store in an airtight container.

granola close up-

One comment

  1. Andj

    Just the inspiration I need to actually make my own granola! I always feel so guilty spending so much on the pre-made. This looks great, thanks!

Leave a Reply

